Management Notes

Reference Notes for Management

System Development Life Cycle (SDLC) Models – 7 Major Models of SDLC | Management Information System

System Development Life Cycle (SDLC) Models

System Development Life Cycle (SDLC) Models

A System Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is a framework for software development, which includes the following types:

  • Waterfall Model: The linear sequential model should be used for projects with well-defined requirements and a limited scope. It is typically used for projects with well-defined requirements.
  • Agile Model: Iterative models are best suited to projects with rapidly changing requirements and high levels of uncertainty. This model allows for flexibility and constant adaptation to changing requirements.
  • Spiral Model: Waterfall and Agile are combined in this process, where development takes place in multiple iterations. Each iteration involves risk analysis, design, and implementation.
  • V-Model: Each phase of the development process is represented by a V shape in this graphical representation of the Waterfall Model.
  • Incremental Model: A software development model is iterative, where each increment builds upon the previous one.
  • Rapid Application Development (RAD) Model: Rapid prototyping and iterative development are emphasized in this model for developing software quickly.
  • Prototype Model: In this model, a working prototype of the software is quickly developed, and then refined and updated based on feedback from users. A project’s specific needs determine which SDLC model to use, since each model has its own strengths and weaknesses.

Read more